Personal

Plenty Thankful

For the bountiful plates of food we have each year, the family & extended family I get to share it with and all the in between. Homecooked meals are always the best and as I get older, I’m beginning to understand the importance of eating meals together at the dinner table.

There’s no love more sincere than when you put your heart into a dish to be shared by those you love. Lasagna always have a place in my heart during the holidays. It was the first dish my mom ever allowed me to help with and also probably one of the first non-Asian dish that was introduced to our family by my mom’s long time friend. So this year I decided to make an updated version of lasagna with a special ingredient – hot italian sausage to give each bite a little kick and mushrooms to complement the meats (recipe inspired by The Pioneer Woman).

Thanksgiving01

As an appetizer I made a dish I learned from a friend – baked bacon wrapped dates. They’re the perfect sweet and savory treat. You can cut each strip of bacon into 2 or 3 strips to even out the savory. Easy to make and it’s hard to eat just one.

TIP: remember to buy PITTED dates

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday of the year. It’s the embodiment of what family is about. There’s comfort in the stories shared,  love that comes through in the deliciousness of the food and quality time with those who mean the most to me.Thanksgiving02

Here’s to making time with my loved ones and cherishing those moments. 

Leave a Reply

