Personal · Where to Eat

Summer & Fall Adventures

Hey everyone! It’s been a while and as you can see I’m way late on updating the blog. Work has bogged me down a bit the last few months and it’s finally slowing down to allow me to catch up on life and sharing it.

Summer went by too quickly and now we’re nearing the end of the fall season. I love summers and fall in NYC, it’s when the creative & bustling good energy buzzes all around the city. There’s always something to do and see, not to mention places to eat. Like the art installations at Figment and the Rain Room at the MoMa I went to earlier this summer. So besides work, I was able to squeeze in some fun outside of the office cubicle.

DUMBOSmorgasburg

Never heard of it? Well, you should get to know it! Smorgasburg is literally a food market filled with different vendors and options to keep you busy for hours tasting your way through. On Saturdays it’s in Williamsburg and on Sundays, in DUMBO. It’s been around for years now and I FINALLY made my trip there – in one of my favorite parts of Brooklyn – DUMBO. And boy, am I glad I did.

Image

Image

I recommend going with a group of friends, about 4-5 people so you can each buy something different and host your own food tasting. There are benches all around and even a nice green lawn for a picnic tasting if you’d like. The lumpias, empanadas and Kevin’s Slush drink were my favorites for the day. There’s only ONE weekend left to go before Smorgasburg closes for the season (outdoors that is – they’re moving indoors for the winter season). And to make the DUMBO location even better? They’ve expanded and moved to Pier 5 – right by the water so you can chow down with views of the gorgeous Manhattan skyline! So, what are you waiting for? Make your plans!

TIP: Take the ferry! If you’re traveling from or through Midtown, take the East River Ferry ($4 one way). You avoid the weekend MTA changes and crowds. Trade it in for a 25-30 min relaxing and scenic ride to the Fulton Ferry Landing  and walk along the water to Pier 5 (15 min walk).

Sailing Through NYC Pioneer Tour

My last memorable experience on a boat in NYC was in Jr. High School on our class trip. Now that I think of it, I may have actually been on the SAME boat! It was actually my birthday and my friends and teacher had mentioned it to the boat crew. One of the crew members took out a guitar, starting playing and everyone on the boat sang to me. I was still quite the shy student at the time and was so overwhelmed with the spotlight that I just wanted to crawl into the bottom of the deck and hide. Despite that, it’s one of my favorite memories.

This time around, my friends and I took advantage of the deal on Travelzoo to take the tour for $19 (instead of $45). We originally booked the Pioneer tour for sunset but were told two weeks prior that our time slot had been booked by a private group. I have to admit, I was a bit bummed and upset since choosing a date that’d work for everyone was hard enough. We decided to stick with the same day and choose an earlier tour. We must have picked the perfect day because on that October morning last month, the weather couldn’t have been more fitting for a ride on the water while catching up with friends. The only thing missing? Drinks in hand and light bites to munch on.

Image

Image

Image

Sailing season for this year is done but keep an eye out for a great deal to set sail on this 127 year old boat next year!

TIP: I bought Milano cookies to share with friends. The crew provides water but bring your own to keep hydrated!

Next Up – My recent trip to Long Island City…

Leave a Reply

