DIY & Crafts

CRAFT IT: Washi Recipe Cards

I received the most gorgeous recipe box at my bridal shower a few years ago and I had been meaning to fill it with recipes. Really, I was! I am! But everytime I would shop for the perfect recipe cards to place in the box, they just weren’t quite right.

So the other day, while thinking up washi inspired projects, I looked through my supplies and found the perfect solution. It’s easy, quick and the combinations you can create are endless.

STEP 1: Cut cardstock to size to fit into the recipe box with a little wiggle room. I cut each card to 5.25 x 3.5 with a paper cutter.

STEP 2: Now choose your washi tape. We’ll be using them as labels for each of the recipe cards. I suggest a light color since you will want to make sure you’ll be able to read the labels clearly. Take one end of the washi tape and tape down on the patterned side of the cardstock from center to right and continue by wrapping the washi tape around to the white side of the cardstock.

STEP 3: Cut another piece of washi tape (about 2 inches) and place on the upper right column of the cardstock (white side).

 

STEP 4: Now it’s time to label your cards. On the patterned side, write the NAME OF THE RECIPE on the washi tape. I like to add the serving size next to the recipe name so I know how much the recipe will serve. Flip the card and on the left side, label the washi tape as INGREDIENTS. Below that, list your ingredients. The final label on the upper right colum will be labeled as PREPARATION; here you’ll list the steps for your recipe.

I like to handwrite my recipes but for those who may prefer printing them, you can easily do so. Be sure to print to a size about an inch smaller than the card, cut them, and just use your washi tape to paste them on! You can even create a fun border with the washi tape around the recipe cutout.

Have fun with it and I’d love to see what you guys come up with! Share your washi recipe cards with me on Facebook.

Leave a Reply

