Events & Workshops

New York Entrepreneur Week (NYEW)

This week I’ve had the opportunity to volunteer at the New York Entrepreneur Week led by founder Gary Whitehill. It has been an amazing experiencing thus far. The speakers have a wealth of knowledge and insight on building your own business. It’s been humbling and encouraging to know that people who have made it and are making it remind me that you don’t have to change who you are to build a business on your passions.

It’s made me remember all the lessons my mother taught me growing up:

1. Work hard and you will succeed.

2. Never let anyone tell you that you can’t do it; and if they do, prove them wrong.

3.  Always say thank you and mean it.

4. Remember your values and where you come from.

It’s simple lessons, but if you truly believe it, it’ll bring great things. Growing up, I lost the drive to strive for point # 2. When doubt overcomes you and when those around you may not believe the same vision or understand it, it’s hard to motivate yourself to push forward. But after being at NYEW, it’s made me take a step back and think about the steps I need to take to strive for what I really want. In the last few years, more and more of my friends have urged me to do more with my passions. I would say “yea, I’ll think about it”. Honestly, it’s a scary thought, but there’s a phrase I used to read everyday – “The cave you fear to enter, holds the treasure you seek”. Sometimes it’s all about just taking that leap of faith and just doing it.

And I took that leap by speaking to 6 new people today and telling them about my ideas. Most that know me would say I’m outgoing, but those that just meet me, think I’m quiet until they start talking to me, The truth is, I don’t like networking for the sake of networking. I don’t like to start conversations, though I tend to be the first to smile at someone in a room. It boggles me having to think what I’m going to ask the person to engage them but at the same time, I like to sit back and observe and find a common ground before approaching someone. I need that connection and almost always build on the relationship from there. As hard as it is for me to take the first step in introducing myself, I am grateful that I was able to approach and be approached by the folks at NYEW that I’ve met.  I’m looking forward to the next two days of NYEW and what it’ll bring. I know that I’ve already gained so much and excited to see what opportunities are out there.

Kudos to my friend Gary Reloj, Co-Founder of Founder’s Block for recommending & introducing me to this amazing opportunity. If any of you are looking to build your own business, check out his site and definitely be sure to attend NYEW next year!

Photos updates from our Night of Hope fundraiser coming soon…

2 thoughts on “New York Entrepreneur Week (NYEW)

Leave a Reply

